Sunday, December 7, 2008
The Impossible
I'm having so much fun doing the impossible.
Friday, November 14, 2008
Favorite Things
1. Traveling-I love seeing new places, and I would love to do more of it.
2. Reading-I'm one of the biggest bookworms ever.
3. Writing-I love to write and let my imagination loose!
4. Laughter-when you've grown up in my family, it's impossible NOT to love laughter!
5. Hugs and smiles-the world could use more of them
6. Chocolate is a girls best friend
7. Encouraging words-if everyone could give someone an encouraging word, the world would be a better place
8. Music and the Arts-I've gotten my love of music from my dad (and both my parents got me into Amy Grant, who I saw last night in concert, and it was AMAZING!), and I've been dancing since I was 5 and acting since I was 9.
9. Last and not least, most importantly, my family and friends-they are amazing!
Thursday, November 13, 2008
The rest of my past week
Saterday Novemeber 8th-I drove by myself fir the first time, first to CVS to get nail polish remover, then to my best friend's birthday party. Her part was wonderful. We got all dressed up (in girl's cases, we were in our fancy dresses). It was so much fun (we did Karaoke, which was a BLAST!).
Sunday Nov. 9th-go and see my baby cousin
Monday Nov. 10th-day off from school
And now today we are goining to go see Amy Grant live in concert, which will be a blast!
Wednesday, November 5, 2008
I am really glad Obama won the election. I think he will make an excellent president, even though I disagree with him on some issues like abortion. But I still can do alot of great and amazing things while in office.
Last night while waiting for Obama to do his accpenetce speech, I was thinking of what other people were thinking. Sometimes I look at people on TV or in pictures and can't help but wounder what they are thinking at that moment.
So last night I was wondering this:
If he was still alive, what would Martin Luther King Jr. think of the first African American President?
What's that 109 year old women who was the daughter of a slave, was thinking when she not only voted for the first African American, but got to see him elected?
What was Michelle Obama thinking when her husben won the election?
What's it like for there girls, who have to go to school today, now as the next First Kids in the White House?
What was Obama thinking when he found out he was going to not only be the next president, but the first African American President?
Saturday, October 11, 2008
Coloring
Monday, October 6, 2008
Why am I this exusted?
I'm exsusted because my life is turning slightly crazy, and it seems to be getting only crazier. Last weekend I was on a church retreat with my youth group. We had an amazing speaker, band, and pulled the best prank in the history of pranks. I'm a theater nut, and last year in theater 1, we did stage makeup, including fake cuts that look unbelievably real. And so I brought my theater make-up with me, did a fake cute with lots of fake blood, and all of us girls told the guys that I got into a fight with my friend, she pushed me, I hit a rock, and cut my leg up pretty bad. All the guys (except for my youth minster; he already knew about it, and even helped us plan it) believed us, and so did all the other Churches there did too. It was so funny, I had to work hard to keep from laughing. And, like every youth retreat, no one get any sleep.
And then I had to go back to school, and it was the end of the 6 weeks, so we had all these test. And then on Friday we drove up to my grandparents house, and on Saturday, me, my mom, and my grandma drove 3 hours to go to my Aunt's baby shower, which was fun to see her, because this not only her first child, but the first time I've seen her pregnant. Then we drove three hours back to my grandparents house, and then all the way back home. We didn't get home till late. Talk about tiring.
So now I'm really tired. I really want to go to bed; instead I have to go to school.
Saturday, September 20, 2008
BarlowGirl
And here is a picture of my and BarlowGirl:
Wednesday, September 3, 2008
Why Women Should Vote
WHY WOMEN SHOULD VOTE
This is the story of our Grandmothers and Great-grandmothers; they lived only 90 years ago.
Remember, it was not until 1920 that women were granted the right to go to the polls and vote.
And by the end of the night, they were barely alive. Forty prison guards wielding clubs and their warden's blessing went on a rampage against the 33 women wrongly convicted of 'obstructing sidewalk traffic.'
They beat Lucy Burns, chained her hands to the cell bars above her head and left her hanging for the night, bleeding and gasping for air.
Thus unfolded the 'Night of Terror' on Nov. 15, 1917, when the warden at the Occoquan Workhouse in Virginia ordered his guards to teach a lesson to the suffragists imprisoned there because they dared to picket Woodrow Wilson's White House for the right to vote. For weeks, the women's only water came from an open pail. Their food--all of it colorless slop--was infested with worms.
When one of the leaders, Alice Paul, embarked on a hunger strike, they tied her to a chair, forced a tube down her throat and poured liquid into her until she vomited. She was tortured like this for weeks until word was smuggled out to the press.
Last week, I went to a sparsely attended screening of HBO's new movie 'Iron Jawed Angels..' It is a graphic depiction of the battle these women waged so that I could pull the curtain at the polling booth and have my say. I am ashamed to say I needed the reminder.
All these years later, voter registration is still my passion. But the actual act of voting had become less personal for me, more rote. Frankly, voting often felt more like an obligation than a privilege. Sometimes it was inconvenient.
My friend Wendy, who is my age and studied women's history, saw the HBO movie, too. When she stopped by my desk to talk about it, she looked angry. She was--with herself. 'One thought kept coming back to me as I watched that movie,' she said. 'What would those women think of the way I use, or don't use, my right to vote? All of us take it for granted now, not just younger women, but those of us who did seek to learn.' The right to vote, she said, had become valuable to her 'all over again.'
HBO released the movie on video and DVD . I wish all history, social studies and government teachers would include the movie in their curriculum I want it shown on Bunco night, too, and anywhere else women gather. I realize this isn't our usual idea of socializing, but we are not voting in the numbers that we should be, and I think a little shock therapy is in order.
It is jarring to watch Woodrow Wilson and his cronies try to persuade a psychiatrist to declare Alice Paul insane so that she could be permanently institutionalized. And it is inspiring to watch the doctor refuse. Alice Paul was strong, he said, and brave. That didn't make her crazy.
The doctor admonished the men: 'Courage in women is often mistaken for insanity.'
Please, if you are so inclined, pass this on to all the women you know.
We need to get out and vote and use this right that was fought so hard for by these very courageous women. Whether you vote democratic, republican or independent party - remember to vote.
History is being made.
Tuesday, September 2, 2008
School and dance
And geometry isn't painful either. Like my teacher (who I love) said, "It's algebra with pictures" and there is some truth to that (a lot of truth to it acutely).
Dance has started up again. I'm taking classes 3 times a week: Tap on Tuesdays, Ballet on Thursday, and Pointe on Saterdays. I'm loving every miniute of it. I love dance so much. Even if I'm the only one in my tap class.
Here are some songs I really like:
"Call on Jesus" by Nicole Mullen
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=61GeKjnWfLA&feature=related
"Held" by Natalie Grant
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iOufqWodFNo
"I Will Not Be Moved" by Natalie Grant
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vyEMJBhCtU8&feature=related
"Awaken" by Natalie Grant
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YkJqN9OrXwk
"Jesus Will Still be There" by Point of Grace
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YKKCZ3xyKzc&feature=related
And that's all for now!
Saturday, August 16, 2008
Road Trip
Tuesday, after days in the car, we rafting, which was a total blast. If you haven't been rafting, you should so go. It is so much fun.
Wed. we moved my brother into his dorm room. It's acutely a pretty nice dorm room. After moving him in, we walked around the campus, went to Target to get some stuff (including a fridge for the dorm room), and then to the welcome thing they had for students and families. Then we said our good-byes. It's weird him not being home. I keep expecting him to walk in from work at any moment. It's going to take awhile to get used to being an only child.
We got back today, and I'm pretty tired. It's amazing how sitting in a car for a couple of days makes you tired.
Tuesday, August 5, 2008
Schedule
1st Period: Computer Apps
2nd period: IPC
3rd Period: English
4th Period: Lunch
5th Period: Pre-Ap World History
6th Period: Team P.E.
7th Period: Geometry
8th Period: Theatre Arts 2
I'm pretty good with it, though I wish I didn't have to take IPC and geometry. Oh well. Life goes on.
Saturday, August 2, 2008
Mission Trip
Saturday, July 26, 2008
Last week was Vacation Bible School at my church. I was wroking with 5th and 6th grades, and man, let me tell you, I love this group. Yea, they did like to talk, and sometime-OK, alot of times-when they weren't supposed to. And we had some boys that where troublemakers, but other then that, they where a really great group. Whatever they where doing, they gave it 100% (including trouble).
This week, I went swiming with friends, and then a Bible study that night. Wed. I had youth group, and yesterday we had a pool going away party for one of my really good friends and her mom. That was really fun. And then all of us girls went over to my best friends house and watched movies pretty much all night. We first watched "A Walk to Remember", and then "Ever After". During "Ever After" we got our midnight snak. My best friend's dad (who is one of the most amazing people I have ever met. That whole family is amazing) had ordered pizza for us (this was around 12:15, I think). I think we ate it in a matter if minutes, or so it seemed. After "Ever After" we watched "Sweet Home Alabama", the movie everyone fell asleep in, not because it was boring, but because we where tired. Everyone said I was the last one to go to sleep, but how would they know if they where asleep? But I think there right, because the last part I remember of the movie is later then the last they saw.
Mission trip is next week. We are going down to the boder, where the hurricane just hit, and working on a house or more, and VBS down there. Keep us in your prayers.
Friday, July 11, 2008
Then this week, last Tuesday, I turned 16! Tuesday evening I had my birthday party, and about 25 people came. I had a pool party, and it was just loads of fun-especially watching people getting trown in! We had snakes, and a huge cookie cake for dessert. We didn't have much left over considering we had 25 people there!
I also got alot of cool presents. I got money, gift cards, an empty journal (people know how much I love to journal, so I always get empty ones, which I do love getting) Cd's and movies and a Emily Dickinson poems from my brother, a James Avery charm that's a heart with a cross in the middle form my grandparents, a trip to Sea World from my best friend (I went yesterday with her, and her family;it was so much fun-the morning we went to all these amazing shows, and the animals are just amazing, and then in the afternoon we did all the water stuff-the lazy river, the wave pool, the giant bucket thing. It was a truly fun day, though it did ware me out, and staying up to 1:45 in the morning with my best friend watching "Sweet Home Alabama" with my best friend) and from my parents, my favorite gift, two tickets to a BarlowGirl concert in Spetember! And the best part is, it's VIP seatring! One ticket is for me, the other one. I'm bringing my best friend-she screamed when I told her it was VIP seating! I can't wait!
Thursday, June 26, 2008
Camp
We left Monday afternoon. The camp is only about an hour or so from where I live, so it didn't take that long to get there. After getting settled in our dorms (guys in one, and girls in another, each sharing the dorm room with one or two other churches) we went to a pep rally. Mainly they introduced the staff and went over the rules. They did show this funny video going over the rules though. Next was dinner. While waiting in the line (despite there being two lines, it can take what seems like forever just to get your food!) my youth minister's wife, and two daughters, a 3 year old and a 1 year old (and another one on the way). And let me tell you, they have the cutest kids on the whole entire planet. I can not even tell you how cute and adorable these two girls are.
After dinner was worship (we had a great speaker and band), then church time (I LOVE church time), and then it was time to go back to our dorms. Lights out was at 11:45 P.M., but that doesn't keep everyone from talking late into the night.
Breakfast starts at 8:15 A.M. (sometimes earlier), and I'll admit, I am NOT a morning person. I can sleep till noon (my record is 1:00 in the afternoon-and I still haven't broken it), but I am willing to get up on time, unlike some girls (with one girl, last year we had to tell her there where bugs in her bed just to get her awake and out of bed). The food isn't all that bad-it isn't great, but I'm not trowing up after meals like I want to do after some camp food meals (I've never do it before, but trust me, some camp food is down right SICK!). After breakfast was personal quite time. In addition to my devotion (it's a Point of Grace-one of my favorite bands-devotion), I'm reading a chapter of the book of John.
Next was morning worship. Our speaker talked about having a purpose in this world, and fulfilling our destiny. It was really interesting. And during worship, I really felt called to be a dance teacher when I grow up. It was so cool.
Then it was rec time. Honestly, I didn't do rec. I did one game, and that's it. I just sat in the shade, drank water, and cheered my team on. It was so hot-it was 100 degrees or hotter. You start sweating just by sitting in the shade. Then it was lunch (and with air conditioning-our favorite), and then off to another pep rally, which became more fun (and alot of screaming). After prep rally it was the banana boat time.
I LOVE the banna boat. The first day we did it I fell off, then we tip it. The secound day I fell off, but no tiping. The third day was like the first day. After the banna boat it was the pool, then shower. During intoor activity time, it mainly consiste of chasing my youth minister's 3-year-old (have I told you how cute she is?). Outdoor activity time was the same as rec. Then it was dinner time, then evening worship, followed by church time. The third night during church time we had the Lord's Supper, and that was an amazing time. You could see God working in my friends lives, it was truly amazing. And it was amazing seeing everyone praying for everyone. It was so cool.
On Friday we came home (one of our rental cars was late, so we where home later then expected. Oh well, we had plenty to do). So it was a great week.
Monday, June 9, 2008
Here's a documentary on J.K. Rowling (my favorite authour of all time). It's really, really good. It comes in severl parts so that's why there's so many:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lONTi0_RmRc
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LcGVnXueTMY&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_PIncs7CusQ&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2kxIEax2ZWg&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RnGmyRI2l-Y&feature=related
Dude, she is so cool!
Friday, June 6, 2008
Recital, and Graduation
They came and watched (with my parents of coarse!), which was really sweet of them!
Today my brother graduated. A whole bunch of family came, and we had a big lunch/dinner (with a HUGE cookie cake for dessert). It was really fun. I have such a sweet and loving family!
Saturday, May 24, 2008
Wicked makeup
Thursday, May 15, 2008
Oh, here's a prayer requst: the lady who owned my dance studio back when I was living in my hometown daughter has a brain tumor. A couple of weeks ago they removed 80% of it. She's nned 24/7 assistance-she's having trouble walking, lost some sight. Last weekend I got an update, and the doctors said there is nothing more they can do. Please, pray for this family-this can't be easy. I can not imagine what they are going through.
Sunday, May 4, 2008
I'm listing to BarlowGirl interviews. They are so good. Anyone who hasn't heard there music, I highly recommend them, they are AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!! They also have these really cool podcast that I LOVE watching, so I'm going to put some here, because they are funny , and because I have nothing better to:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PC4nGIxejaA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OvNyNcT5n4Y
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n_EhBYL1e1w&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=54WvlbTSZLc&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yW55NuW1h34
Thursday, March 27, 2008
An intresting day
OK, so here's what happened. I'm just sitting in adversary class (we have it every Wed.), and I was just reading my library book. And in adversary I learned that there is water in the ceiling, because one title could no longer support the water, and it came crashing down-water and tile.
And it cashed right on top of me.
No I didn't scream. I don't think anyone else screamed (but how I am I supposed to know? I was under water at the time!). The first thing I thought was either "Oh no my book!" (remember it's a library book!) and "Where's my teacher?" (who was on the phone, I assume trying to get someone to clean up the mess). And the adversary teacher (we have two different classes in one room) was all like "Are you OK?" and freaking out and stuff, it was really funny.
My book was fine (just wet, not ruined) and my book bag (which was totally socked) was fine, and only three of my papers where ruined, easy to replace though, and my old geography is a mess now, but it is readable for the most part).
My jeans where socked, as half my jacket was, my hair was damp, and my shirt was bearly wet. Next period, at first my math teacher thought it was raining outside when she saw me all wet, and then I got the pleasure of telling her what happened. And when I told my friend in 8th period what happened, she said "oh, so that was you?" She had heard it from another girl in one of her other classes.
Now, that's something that dosn't happen every day.
Saturday, March 22, 2008
Spring Break Part 2
After seeing my dance studio, my parents dropped me off at my best friend's house. Boy, it was so good to see her. We went to go see a movie (The Spiderwick Cronicels-it wasn't that bad), and I'll admit, we did talk to much then we should, but we didn't get kicked out! Which is good! After the movies we went to see two of my friends, whom I haven't seen since May (one was screaming when she saw me, she was so excited!). We went back to my best friend's house, and played Wii till my parents came and picked my up. We drove across town to my grandparents house. The next day, we went bowling (I acutely did a strikes, and I think some spears!). And we got hotdogs for lunch at the best hotdog place EVER!!!!!!!!!!!
It was already planned that we would be taking my Grandad out for dinner, but one thing my grandparents didn't know is that my uncle would be flying down for Grandad's birthday. It was really funny, because when he walks in, he comes up beinhd my grandmother, and just tapps her on the sholder. She sure was suprised! So was Grandad. We went out for Mexican food, and had a great time.
The next day we left, and came home. and for the next couple of days, we all just laid around the house and did nothing (OK, we did do yard work, but other then that.....). I went back to school (though I did have yesterday off due to the fact it was good Friday).
Sunday, March 16, 2008
Good-bye Spring Break, Hello School
Complaining won't change anything, so I won't. Instead I'll talk about my totally awesome spring break. On Monday we drove down to my hometown. We where there to celebrate my Grandad's birthday, but that night before going over to their house, we decided to stop by to where I grew up.
OK, I'll admit, one thing that I was really hoping to do was to stop by the dance studio I went too when I was living there. Their spring break isn't till next week, so people will up there. I didn't get to see any of my freinds, but I did get to see two teachers I've been dying to see. It was soooooooooooo good to see them (one of them I hadn't seen since last May, the other one I don't think I've seen since last August I think). It was so good to be back there. I wish I can just click my heels like Dorthey any time I want, and just be home agian.
The rest of my spring break will come later. For now I must go........
Thursday, February 28, 2008
The Revolve Tour part 2
Friday night we stayed up REALLY late. We painted our nails, and talk and giggle and where just where girls. Even after 1:00 in the morning we where still talking and giggling in bed (and yes girls where text messaging! GRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!). Finally we went to bed.
The next morning we heard from Natalie, and Chad, and the Drama Team. We also saw Hawk Nelson.
For those who don't know who he is, Hawk Nelson is a singer, who probably has great songs and stories behind them, but let me tell you, to me, he acted like a complete jerk.
He didn't talk about God. OK, I KNOW he was singing about Him, cuz he's a Jesus Freak, but trust me he wasn't. He was so self centerd, only there for himself, not Jesus at all! And the girls where all like "OMG, I touched Hawk Nelson" "Hawk Nelson is so cute" "I want to marry Hawk Nelson" and one chick was holding up a sign that said "Marry me Hawk Nelson"! It's making me sick! He's not Jesus, Elvis, or the Beatles, so I don't know why everyone is such a big deal about it!
Ok, enough about that. All in all it was a GREAT day. I didn't want it to end. It felt like never was going to end, but then suddenly I was on the drive home, woundering where the time went!
The Revolve Tour
Friday night we saw Natalie Grant (probably now my 2nd favorite singer after BarlowGirl). She was SO TOTALLY ALSWOME! She sang "Held" one of her most popular songs. (Here's the music video: http://www.godtube.com/view_video.phpviewkey=608d02fb47a54b4e8ba3&page=13&viewtype=&category=tf)
She also talked to us about being the real you, and her struggles with being herself, and having an eating disorder. It was so cool!
We also heard from Chad Eastham, a really cool guy who talked to us about guys, and why they act the way they do. Chad also talked about how we are beautiful, and to be confident in ourselves. It was really cool.
In Chad's book (The Truth about Guys: One Guy Reveals What Every Girl should Know-an excellent book!) he said something really cool: "Allow your heart to be so wrapped up in God that a guy has to ask for directions to get to it." That's pretty cool!
Thursday, February 21, 2008
I guess I well talk about the future. I am going out of town to this Revlove Tour with a bunch of girls from my youth group. There is going to be a bunch of music, and speakers and stuff. It should be AMAZING! I can't wait! And even better I get of school early. WOOT WOOT!
Thursday, February 7, 2008
Driving
So far in this mounth of pink and red, I have done all my normal things except last Monday when we where off from school (YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) I went over to the drivers place and took my driver's test to get my permit (after standing in line, and a whole bunch of paper work), and I PASSED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So now I have my permit, and it is so totaly ALSWOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
So that's what my life has been like!
Monday, January 21, 2008
Martin Luther King Jr. Day
And speaking of Dreams, I encourage everyone to listin to his I Have a Dream Speech:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iEMXaTktUfA
What an amazing speech!
Friday, January 18, 2008
Odds and Ends
Much to my surprise, I haven't been stressed at all since school started at all, even when I got assigned two projects this week, due next week.
Tomorrow is my first day of pointe lesson. Wish me luck! Though personaly I'm sure I'll be fine, and even though it hurts, it's totaly worth doing something so beautiful.
And here's a really cool interview of my favorite band, the one and only, BarlowGirl:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IqNvWgUzqQw